You Feel Me?

The Daily is asking for Learning Style. What’s your learning style? Do you prefer learning in a group and in an interactive setting? Or one-on-one? Do you retain information best through lectures, or visuals, or simply by reading books?

hands-on_workshopHands!  Hands!  Hands!

There is absolutely no way I learn faster than with ‘hands-on’ experience.  Instructional videos are a close second, but if I were there – in the flesh – watching you do something, while attempting to copy you, it would work much better.

Now when it comes to things that I am very interested in (i.e. ancient civilizations, cultures, mythologies, theologies, legends, etc.) I have to read it, myself.  I cannot simply ‘listen’ to lectures.  I’ll forget everything that was said – unless, of course, it’s a documentary, because then my ‘visual’ tool is stimulated, helping burn that information into my brain for future reference.  Entertainment wise, it’s the same.  I hate audiobooks and will never use them.  Ever.

Also, I tend to retain information better if I physically write it down, because then I’m also adding a ‘memory’ of writing the words to aid in recalling the information later on.  I have a couple of learning disabilities that make learning exceptionally difficult by orthodox standards, but I’ve learned over the years how to make it work for me – it just usually takes me twice as long as everyone else.

Do you find the same learning tools useful or are you just the opposite?

4 thoughts on “You Feel Me?

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Learning Style | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: I do it over and over and over and . . . you know. | Rob's Surf Report

  3. Pingback: Learning style | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

Leave a Reply

