It’s All Mine!

Daily Prompt asks: What is your least favorite personal quality in others? Extra points for sharing your least favorite personal quality in yourself.

It took me a second to decide what my least favorite personal quality might be – or personality trait, which I assume is pretty much the same thing Daily’s asking for here.   There are just as many ‘bad’ qualities as there are good, but I think it all really boils down to balance – or lack there of – when it comes to how these traits go from just annoying to extremely off-putting.

Some qualities that tend to grate on my nerves faster than others include Superiority, Narcissism and Cowardice (amazingly, the three tend to show up all in the same person more often than not, hmm).  However, there is one that is far more prevalent in my little world lately that I just cannot seem to get away from, and that is Entitlement.

“I deserve anything and everything, because I suck in air.”

No, jackass, you soooooo do not.  Not by a long shot.

Many call this the “rich boy/girl” syndrome, but let me tell you, it is not exclusive to the wealthy.  In poorman’s terms, we call these folks “moochers.”  The one’s that manage to make it all of the way through life at the expense of others.  Not just financial expense, but at the cost of their time, comfort and even sanity.  These people are not only entitled in their tiny, ignorant minds, they come with invasive personalities.  They will tell you things you never want to hear, just so they can hear themselves talk.  They will completely take over any household they ever live in – and like a parasite, it’s already happening before you’re ever aware.  Before you know, YOU have altered your way of living to accommodate THEM, and for what?  They’re not doing anything other than taking up valuable space and oxygen.

Of course, some might say that this isn’t really a trait, merely an extension of narcissism, and that’s probably true.  All I know is that it makes me want to hit somebody.  Hard.

Now, I have to make a confession, because I want my extra points – no, I’m not an over-achiever lol.  I have more than one bad trait, and probably even some others find annoying that I’m unaware of – that’s just how life works.  However, my worst, I think is that I’m a total time-hoarder.  I am so stingy with my free time and I know that’s unfair to my family and friends, who get ignored when I’m doing this.  It’s common, I hear, in creative types, to be solitary or even isolate ourselves from those who’d like to spend time with us, and no- that’s no excuse.  It’s just something I have to seriously work at on a regular basis.  Though, I tend to fail more often than not.  Being aware of it does help, because I do manage to pull my head out of my (you potty mouth) own little world long enough to at least chat via text or instant message and let them know I’m thinking of them.  That I haven’t forgotten.

It’s great to have supportive, understanding, amazing (yes, I’m brown nosing here) wonderfully superb friends that I absolutely adore and love to death – even if I forget to surface for weeks or months at a time. 🙂

4 thoughts on “It’s All Mine!

  1. Pingback: You’re a Mean One, Sweet Lover | Pretty Pleasures

  2. Pingback: “What’s not to like, Surfer Rob?” | Rob's Surf Report

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: You’re a Mean One Mr. Grinch | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  4. Pingback: You’re a mean one Mr Grinch | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

Leave a Reply

