A Preamble of Sorts

“I am unraveled in the concept of my own existence.  Take apart the propaganda of a few thwarting the realism of the many, and you have “society.”  But what is society, really?  If so many of us claim to be non-conformers; rebels, the black sheep of the socially accepted, than how is there even a society to set about these specific guidelines that we always seem to fall short of?  Why are our “outside of the norm” ways so wrong?  Who makes that call?  Who’s backing the ominous secret society known as ‘Mainstream’ Society?  Lookit, Mr./Mrs. Faceless Naysayers, my voice does matter.  My feats are not inconsequential.  If I were to die today, I would go on regardless of what any religion might say, for I am already created and creations never truly cease to exist.  I’ll let you ponder that for a moment, but it will require that you expand your mind.” ~ An observant thinker’s thoughts on existing or not…

It’s not as random as it seems.  Some of you may recall that I talked about a couple of challenges the Instigator had given me.  That I’d failed the first, yet seemed to have no hiccups with the second.  I’ve since then debated heavily on the idea of sharing the result of that second challenge here, simply because of how personal it ended up being – but my mind is set.  Consider this a preamble… or a warning.

The challenge was simple (or so I thought), he said: 10,000 words or less and the first line has to be “It all started when I died.”

Of course, my mind instantly went to that novel “The Lovely Bones,” which I never read more than just the first page of, nor have I seen the movie.  It’s on my list of things to do, along with a gazillion other items.  I didn’t want to go there.  Actually, I didn’t ‘decide’ which direction to take the short story, I just started writing and it went wherever the hell it wanted to.  Since the Daily Prompt gurus have so graciously brought to head the new year’s destiny of our blogs, I suppose now is as good a time as any to mold this baby into the space it was initially designed to be;  A platform for writing.

There are 14, one-to-two page chapters, but I’ll err on the side of caution and not promise you one every single day.  Since the fictional scope of the story is also a reflection of personal views, beliefs and situations, there will be a lot of editing, which is extremely time consuming.  I look forward to hearing everyone’s feedback – even constructive criticism is very welcome.  It’s all about learning and growing, right?

One thought on “A Preamble of Sorts

Leave a Reply

