Music That Grabs You

The Daily Prompt is asking: Do you play an instrument? Is there a musical instrument whose sound you find particularly pleasing? Tell us a story about your experience or relationship with an instrument of your choice.

Guitar&Piano

My paternal grandmother taught all of her kids how to play the guitar.  I can’t remember a time in my childhood memories when there wasn’t a selection of acoustic or electric guitars in our house, ready for my dad to play whenever the mood struck.  My uncle would come visit us in order to have ‘jam’ sessions with my dad.  My grandma even played on a local radio station when my dad was young.  I love the sound of a guitar, electric or acoustic.  I really do.  I also grew up in a time when bands like Santana, Pink Floyd and Metallica (just to name a few) were known for their unique guitar rifts –  and let’s not forget my mom’s favorites, ZZ Top, Eric Clapton and Stevie Ray Vaughan.

My sister took to this talent, being able to play the guitar as if she’d been born with it already in her hands and our dad’s love for the guitar eventually landed him in the field of building them for Fender at Tacoma Guitar, catering to stars like George Strait and Greenday, before they closed up shop and moved across the country.

But this is not the instrument that grabs me.  The sound that I am drawn to, that pulls at my eardrums and heartstrings simultaneously.  That honor goes to the piano.  I love the piano!  Twice, I’ve taken piano lessons that didn’t last nearly long enough to teach me more than just the basics, but how I envy those who can just sit down and make those keys do whatever their heart desires at the time.  I have my favorite classical songs, of course, but I’m not one to listen to elevator music all day long or even while driving in my car.  So, I’m very drawn to modern music that uses the piano in their songs, especially when it’s more prevalent than blended.

Though, I will always have a soft spot for amazing guitar rifts and acoustic performances.

One thought on “Music That Grabs You

  1. Pingback: Scandalous love. | The Hempstead Man

Leave a Reply

