Mind-Fracked

The Daily Prompt is asking: When was the last time you watched something so scary, cringe-worthy, or unbelievably tacky — in a movie, on TV, or in real life — you had to cover your eyes?

Hands down, the Tacky Award goes to anything Miley Cyrus could ever come up with.  Twerking and the tongue thing… it just makes me throw up a little.

I watch shows like Game of Thrones, Spartacus, Banshee and True Blood.  When it comes to blood and gore, I’m A-Okay! (The graphic sex scenes help a lot!!) 😉  However, psychological thrillers scare the holy bajeebus out of me every time!   I will not watch anything with dead/ghost children, either, they’re just creepy.  That being said, though, The Grudge didn’t scare me at all.

theringrebootThe Ring did.  Mostly, because I watched it at night, all by myself and the good guys didn’t win in the end.  You can’t have a scary movie where the dead thing is still at large at the end, it’s just wrong.  I shamelessly admit to ejecting this from my DVD player and throwing it out the front door when it was over, then spending the rest of the night in a state of total terror of my own damn television set.

I’m not a huge fan of paying to get the life scared out of me, and I’ll pass whenever these flicks show up on TV.  The ones that always stick with me the longest, though, are the ones that could really happen.  Seven, SAW, Jeepers Creepers, House of Wax (though it was entertaining to watch Paris Hilton bite it in true Lita Ford fashion), Wrong Turn… I still watch for barbwire across back roads in rural areas…I’m sure there’s many more I just can’t think of right off the top of my head.  Whenever the ‘bad guy/girl’ is someone that could actually exist, and do things to people that are completely possible, it freaks me the hell out.  It’s Mind-Fracking!

But my ultimate choice for scariest movie ever is…(drum roll, please)

SerpentandtherainbowThe Serpent and the Rainbow.  Anyone else ever cringe and sob through this movie or was it just me???  I have, to this day, a very high respect (and by respect, I mean avoidance at all costs) of voodoo.  As far as Wes Craven films go, this has got to be his masterpiece, despite being more famous for Freddy Kruger’s Slumber-Time Adventures.  I’ve only seen Bill Pullman in two other noteworthy roles since; Brokedown Palace and purposely falling off of a hotel balcony in The Grudge – which was, by far, the best part of the entire movie and the only one that took me by surprise.

Okay, fine Lake Placid was HILARIOUS, but that was mostly thanks to Betty White.  🙂

 

Leave a Reply

