My Poly-BFF Life

keep-calm-you-can-have-more-than-one-bffIt must be friend week, or just a synchronicity in my own life needing attention.  I was talking about the fact that I have not 1, but 2 best friends – a very lucky girl, I am!  Now, to admit the truth.  I’m the worst friend in the world, and I think I’ve mentioned this in a past post somewhere yonder in the archives.  I’m an introverted, creative-minded, night owl who can be extremely selfish with her time.  And I know that both of them wish I would spend more time with them than I do.  Aside from that, my BFF’s are as different as night and day.  For the sake of this post (and as inside jokes I know they’d get a kick out of) I’m going to call them Kitten and Mouse. 🙂 Love ya, girls.

I met Kitten when I was 9 – after I stomped on her brother’s toe on the bus and she was determined to kick my ass for it – until she realized I’d only done it, because I couldn’t resist those damn blue eyes of his. She’s the middle child of a family of 3, but they had a 4th living with them at the time, whom we’re still friends with to this day.

I met Mouse when I was 13 – after I’d transferred to a new school.  It was 7th period History and the last of my embarrassing “This is the new girl” stand up in front of the whole class kind of introductions – and there was Mouse, waving me down to sit with her like an air-traffic control guy on the tarmac.

The Daily Prompt is asking if I believe in the idea of one friendship mattering the most.  My answer is hell no.  I think all of our friendships should matter, when they are true, down to the core friendships.  If you can say that someone is your BFF, that means that no matter what, they know everything about you and you know everything about them, and you are still madly, deeply in love with each other as only True Friends can be.  You have accepted the quirks, the bad with the funny and the awesomeness that make up the complex, kaleidoscope range of colors that your BFF’s are – just as they’ve accepted yours.  And maybe all of those things are what make you so close to them, maybe all of the memories and fights and make-ups and nights you spent holding each other over broken hearts just can never be replaced – and why would you want them to be?

Like any relationship, BFF bonds take work.  It’s a give-and-take and you have to decide what matters to you the most.  Their existence in your world, or being stubborn/right/wrong/just stupid for one blip in time that will pass?  We’ve had our ups-and-downs, our own share of “life happens” that takes us away for awhile, but we always come back, or more to the point, we’re always there, sometimes just a little removed, but never out of reach or touch or heaven forbid, cell-phone range. 🙂

With Kitten & Mouse, though, I have not only found my lifelong BFF’s, I’ve inherited all of their family, as well.  I have enough parents to drive anyone crazy (especially when we were teens!) umpteen million sisters, countless nieces and nephews, brothers, sister-in-laws, husband-in-laws (Kitten’s hubby gets my Honey-Do List) and extended friends that have also been with us for decades, because they’re the BFF’s of all of these inherited individuals.

Life is good when friendship matters and even better when I stop being selfish and actually spend time with them… I’m sorry Ladies, I still super Lurva-Love you always & forever ‘Till the End! Mooches!

Okay, fine… I will call more often.  Is that better?  No matter how different they are, they both still know how to give you that one-brow arched stink eye… *sigh*

Leave a Reply

