Why I Don’t Eat Ice Cream

Today’s Prompt is: Automation has made it possible to produce so many objects — from bread to shoes — without the intervention of human hands (assuming that pressing a button doesn’t count). What things do you still prefer in their traditional, handmade version?

Home Made Ice CreamWhen I was about 10 or 11, my school friend invited me to a huge family reunion style gathering at one of her relative’s place.  Not only was it the coolest house I’d ever been to, but toward the end of the event our amazing hosts/hostesses treated everyone to a small Dixie cup of homemade vanilla ice cream.  After we got to watch how they made it in this wooden tub with a handle sticking off the top of it, so it could be turned and turned. I was fascinated, of course, but then I stuck a plastic spoon full of this hard-earned dessert into my mouth and I knew that I would never forget it.  To this day, I can’t eat store-bought ice cream.  And even in the event that we travel over to the coast and run across some seaside ‘homemade’ ice cream parlor, I have yet to ever taste anything that compares to that little Dixie cup of heaven.strawberry-jam

Just recently, some of my family and I made homemade Strawberry Jam.  Then, without me (I know, rude, huh?) they made Raspberry Jam.  I will never buy jam from a store ever again.  It simply cannot compare to the real fruit yumminess of homemade jam.  Not to mention, we had an absolute blast making it, tweaking the recipe and just enjoying a day of being together.

SourdoughI’m not sure if this one counts, because she used a bread machine, however: No one makes sourdough bread like my grandma.  I’ve never had anything from a store or restaurant that can compare.  I attempted to make my own bread once and apparently, despite how much ‘love’ I tried to knead into the glob of dough, it still wasn’t enough.  I’m a bread lover, and it’s difficult for me to turn any kind of variation down, but man do I miss having dinner at grandma and grandpas with her sourdough bread and delicious Caesar salad.  Another homemade bread I’ve had the great fortune of having was my old boss’s homemade strawberry and blackberry breads.  I remember going out and picking blackberries with my coworker just for the prize of getting a whole loaf all to ourselves!

In my opinion, homemade will always be better than factory made.  All you have to do is look around at the lack of ‘quality’ everything has these days.  That’s because nothing is made by hand any more.  From architecture to tennis shoes, the products we buy will never have the same lasting quality as they did in the past and that’s just sad, because we’re paying quite a bit more for them.

 

5 thoughts on “Why I Don’t Eat Ice Cream

  1. I agree, there are many things that are better when they are hand-made than when they are made by machines. I certainly prefer hand-made or home-made food, and would love to have every single article of clothing I own made just for me. However, I will add a little caveat to this: I think that given the number of people in this world that need to be fed and clothed (substantially higher than in the past and increasing daily), there is something to be said for the automation of production that makes it possible for so many more people to have those things than would otherwise be possible.
    Really enjoyed your post and that home-made strawberry jam! Would love a jar of that 🙂

    Like

    • Ah, yes, supply & demand and I agree, it is the reason why we turn to mass production, allowing many to have what they wouldn’t have had access to in the past. Very good point, Vic! Thanks for reading and commenting! I’m afraid I can’t share the jam, though, it was so good that I’m already out and have to haggle more from the family pantry! 🙂

      Like

  2. Pingback: Who Made You? | It's Mayur Remember?

  3. Pingback: Poem / Poetry – “Let Your Heart Be Your Guide” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

