What? Work’s Optional?

The Daily is asking: If money were out of the equation, would you still work? If yes, why, and how much? If not, what would you do with your free time?

Of course, my immediate reaction to this was: Pfft! NO! Are you crazy??!! Why in the hell would I keep working, if I didn’t have to! Are you mad? A sadist?  Because, I don’t feel that self-loathing!

Then, it dawned on me that I do consider writing a whole lot of work.  It’s not just art, and let’s face it – 98% of the time, calling it a labor of love, is just a boldfaced lie! – thus I have to admit that yes, yes I would keep working even if money was out of the equation.  After all, it isn’t monetary necessity that drives my fingers to the keys, meting out carefully constructed lines of gibberish that lure unsuspecting victims into the twisted tales of my character’s rotten senses of ego and humor – it’s a necessity of mental stability.  They’ll drive me crazy, they’ll never shut up, if I don’t put their stories to paper and I, for one, wouldn’t like to be held accountable for the aftermath of that implosion.

HearingVoices

In essence, you could say that my job is as a civil servant.  I’m saving lives here (and my own sanity), while insuring that Folgers never goes out of business and musicians still have an audience.  I’m a goddamn hero(ine?).  And, I know that for a fact, because my bank account balance is a constant echo of mocking laughter.

Which, brings me back around to the Daily Prompt… when is money out of the equation, again? Do we have an approximate date fixed on that yet?  *Drumming fingers…*

One thought on “What? Work’s Optional?

Leave a Reply

