The Age of Social Media

The Daily is asking: 500 years from now, an archaeologist accidentally stumbles on the ruins of your home, long buried underground. What will she learn about early-21st-century humans by going through (what remains of) your stuff?



Are you just trying to be nosy?  Okay, well, I don’t mind… after all, this is the Age of Social Media.  Nothing is sacred anymore, because everyone has become addicted to sharing every aspect of their daily lives via Social Networking from the big celebrations all of the way down to the “OMG, I really didn’t need to know that, and now I do, and now I hate you because you made me know that.”

Seriously, do you have to tweet every time your newborn has a bowel movement?  Because, I have 2 kids and trust me, what use to happen in their diapers was not that interesting!   I mean, you know it’s a sad state of affairs when the NSA can admit to spying on their own people all along – proving thousands of conspiracy theorists not crazy – and no one really balks at it.  They’re still monitoring our phone calls, our email and watching us through the web cams imbedded in our laptops, but no one cares, because they’re already living completely open lives via FACEBOOK.   :|

So, if there is an archaeologist in 500 years that doesn’t already know EVERYTHING there is to know about how we lived in the 21st century, hand them a dunce cap and then direct them to the excavation site of my house.  Here, they will see that single mom’s with teenage boys owned a LOT of entertainment equipment.  Like multifunctional stereos; not 1, not 2, but 3 television sets!  XBox 360’s and PS3’s, Wii’s, Kindle Fires, iPods, laptops and all of the games and apps that go along with them.  They’ll also see that this girl loved to read, as 90% of my possessions are books on all kinds of topics, from every kind of genre.  I even have a tiny, pocket size Works of John Ruskin from 1911 that’s seen better days, but I love its tattered character.

Aside from the sports equipment, gaming systems, vast library and collection of movies, the archaeologist will also find that I love pictures of my family and have walls dedicated to my favorite candid shots, shelves of albums for all the rest.  She’ll also discover that we 21st centuriests are pack-rats.  We keep far too many things, like 10 year old documents we should toss in the shredder, receipts from 3 Christmas’s ago (just in case), those broken things that we might be able to fix one day if we could just find the right superglue, screwdriver or metal hinge.  We also enjoy surrounding ourselves with ‘dust collectors’ (aka nicknacks), movie stubs, guitar picks… what?  Okay, that’s just me, then.

Well, I’d love to say that if I forgot anything you can always find out the rest on Twitter, but I don’t tweet… I’m being stubborn about it.  I’d kind of like to keep some of my privacy intact and don’t feel that my life is interesting enough to constantly update my status about it!  I guess that means you’re stuck reading long, drawn-out blog posts like this one… sorry.

Not really. ;)

Leave a Reply

