NaNoWriMo 2015 Winner!

NaNo-2015-Winner-Badge-Large-Square

Well, after a month of ups and downs, the inevitable days of Writer’s Stall (not Block), making up for lost words & time, late nights & early mornings, far too much coffee, the obstacles of turkey & pumpkin pie: at three minutes to midnight last night I submitted 50,335 words to be validated through the NaNoWriMo website and got the thumbs up!  Actually it was more than that.  It was a video, a certificate, badges, the offer for a t-shirt and more winner’s swag prizes to be claimed on December 1st!

Of course, I can’t really write a 50k word novel.  Even though I did try to aim my plot toward that much faster ending, it still has a few thousands words left before I can officially say that it’s finished.  It might be more like a 70-75k word novel, instead.  The best thing about this entire experience, is that I stuck with it.  There were days when my brain couldn’t muster a single word to help and I started to sweat the looming finish line.  Especially when my muse was happily dabbling in the realms of my other novels, rather than focusing on the NaNo one!

I learned about myself as a writer, though, that when push comes to shove, I can make it happen.  On a normal day, if my muse isn’t interested in a story, I’ll switch over to something else.  NaNo taught me that I can slap that hussy and make her do what I want, she’s not in control! (Well… for the most part, anyway.)  It just makes me wish there was some kind of challenge every month or two, rather than once a year.  I could try to set up the same parameters on myself, but I’m not afraid of me, so it’s not that great of an incentive! LOL 😉

NaNo2015WinnerCert

CONGRATULATIONS TO ALL #NANOWINNERS2015! YOU’RE AWESOME & YOU JUST PROVED IT!

Leave a Reply

