My Review ♥ Dying For A Living by: Kory M. Shrum!

CoverDyingForALiving

BLURB

On the morning before her 67th death, it is business as usual for Jesse Sullivan: meet with the mortician, counsel soon-to-be-dead clients, and have coffee while reading the latest regeneration theory. Jesse dies for a living, literally. As a Necronite, she is one of the population’s rare 2% who can serve as a death replacement agent, dying so others don’t have to. Although each death is different, the result is the same: a life is saved, and Jesse resurrects days later with sore muscles, new scars, and another hole in her memory.

But when Jesse is murdered and becomes the sole suspect in a federal investigation, more than her freedom and sanity are at stake. She must catch the killer herself—or die trying.

My Review

Originally posted on Goodreads May 7, 2015

Title: Dying For A Living
Series: Jesse Sullivan Series
Author: Kory M. Shrum
Genre: Paranormal/Futuristic/Mystery with some Romantic elements & a whole lot of Snark!
Rating: 4 ‘s

I was offered the chance to read this book for free by the wonderful author, herself, Kory M. Shrum, so the least I could do was give it a rave review!

I finished this book in less than 2 days, because I couldn’t put it down. It’s far too action-packed to ignore and like the main protagonist, I really wanted to know the answers. The entire concept of the storyline was new, which was intriguing enough, but the author went a step above and gave it raw edges of realism packed with a lot of humor.

Jesse Sullivan is the main protagonist, a Necronite (don’t call her a zombie) who has no brain-to-mouth filter, whatsoever! Often times, that made for some pretty hilarious dialogue. I loathe First Person POV, I just need to state that. It tends to keep the main character in a perpetual state of immaturity that aggravates me to no end, which is why I feel it should be reserved only for YA. That did prove true in some areas of this book. There were a few scenes that turned me off to the woman who’s head I was stuck inside of, and made me want to reach into the pages and smack some sense into her. The bright side, was that it seemed to be purposely done, rather than an unfortunate byproduct and I got to see some maturity taking hold as the story progressed. It also allowed me to discover things at the same time as Jesse, which is probably why that POV was chosen. It definitely kept the suspense level at an all-time high.

The love triangle between Jesse, Ally and Lane is captivating, as well, adding a nice balance to all of the action. It reminds me a little of Lost Girl, and how a heart really can be torn in two different directions while the emotions remain sincere, rather than forced or tainted. It will be interesting to see how that progresses in the rest of the series. The mystery surrounding Gabriel has truly got me hooked. The deliberate shroud of the unknown the author kept him in throughout the story, only allowing small glimpses, was very clever and effective bait.

All in all, the combination of a fresh, new kind of science fiction, familiar supernatural elements and blatant realism was very alluring. Add to that the blunt, descriptive dialogue that edged the genre of erotica without actually jumping the line makes pinning Dying For A Living down into any one category impossible. It’s an experience that I would recommend to anyone who enjoys fast-paced action, a not-so-perfect heroine, a lot of snarky comebacks, a genuine cast of supporting characters and endless suspense that makes you want to rush out and buy the second book.

And I’d like to thank the author, Kory, for the opportunity to read it!

AMAZON GOODREADS

The Kindle & Audible version for this book is FREE right now on Amazon (follow link above). This is a Free & Honest review, I was not paid anything from the author for it, not even an ARC – at the time I reviewed it, the book was free on Amazon.

2 thoughts on “My Review ♥ Dying For A Living by: Kory M. Shrum!

Leave a Reply

