Greedy Little Bastard

 

That’s what you’ve reduced me to

I’m gobbling up days, hoarding time

I’m closed off in my cave, Do Not Disturb

No calls, Caffeine Drip

I’m inching closer to the escape hatch

One critically constructed convergence at a time

You can’t keep me, but I’ve got you chained to the screen

It’s not you, and it sure in the hell ain’t me…

It’s that two-bit floozy I call my muse

The moment you’re revealed, she’s long gone

So, there will be no previews, no teasers, no seedy peep shows

You’ll sit there and gimme all you got

Until the binds of Avarice have come undone

And that fickle hussy’s on the run.

#amwriting

harry-chapin-musician-i-am-a-greedy-selfish-bastard-i-want-the-fact

Leave a Reply

