The Elusive Pokemon

TeenBoysHavingFun

Yep, that looks like my goofy boys. image source: keyword-suggestions.com

Ever since I packed the kiddos up and moved to this lovely area we’ve called home for the past 3 years, they’ve made a lot of friends around the neighborhood. Friends that started out as guests and have quickly become family. They camp out in my living room, play my video games, watch my Netflix, share their jokes and rapping skills (some are really good!) – in short, it’s always fun times around here. I feel blessed to be considered the ‘cool’ mom to this large assortment of kids, mostly boys and a couple girls, ranging in age from 13-18. They even sometimes cook, sometimes clean, wash their own laundry – with a little push from the stern side of cool mom πŸ˜‰

Hey, this is an equal opportunity household!

There are 2 very important things I’ve learned as the mom to a neighborhood of teenagers. 1: Always have food and drinks on hand. 2: Keep a can of Febreeze in every room. Especially if your kids are athletes!

Knowing I was going to have a couple extra kids over, I begrudgingly went grocery shopping, so no one would go hungry. Now, I am admittedly a carb-junkie. You can have your ice cream, candy bars and donuts. Stay the hell away from my coffee and potato chips! As it turned out, my 2 extras turned into 4 + the 2 I gave birth to, and I learned something very interesting this past week: How much food 6 teenage boys can eat in less than 48 hours.

The answer is: ALL OF IT. (aka what a family of 3 could live on for a week).

To include all of my cheddar cheese Ruffles. 😐

“Who ate all my chips?!”

“Not me!” x 6.

I guess it was that elusive pokΓ©mon no one’s caught yet. That little shit also dirties all of the towels and dishes, drinks out of the milk carton, never replaces the empty toilet paper rolls or seals the cereal bag and leaves dirty socks all over the living room. I’m going to call him Teenboyachu.

β™₯ #LOVEMYKIDS! #HateGroceryShopping! #GetYourOwnBag!

7 thoughts on “The Elusive Pokemon

  1. Go, Cool Mom! I miss those days. Almost. πŸ˜„

    As a mom whose three lil urchins were involved in band, orchestra AND musical theatre, sometimes I forgot that only three of the kids lounging around my living room (and kitchen) actually belonged to me. Add my two terms as PTA prez at their high school and I never stood a chance! I made enough popcorn balls, no-bake cookies and rice krispie treats to last planet Earth a lifetime! (Yeah, I was THAT parent volunteer who didn’t know how to say ‘no’). LOL!

    The caveat is now all those kids are adults…and I still get to be the cool mom! They send me friend requests on FB, and follow me everywhere else. The best part? I’m no longer feeding them! πŸ˜„πŸ˜„πŸ˜„

    #CoolMomsUnite πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    • I can’t wait to reach that high status without the grocery bill… Envy! LOL Nah, I love having all these kids around and you’re right, you tend to forget 90% of them aren’t really yours, but they’re mine in all the ways that count. You were a lot braver than I am with the PTA Prez part, I’m more of the sports mom (football and basketball cheerleading squad right here). I look forward to watching them grow into adults and still want to call me the cool mom. Then they can buy their own chips and leave their paws off mine lol #CoolMomsUnite, indeed! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

