Dear Indie ♥ New Resource Post

Independent

So… October 7th was my 3 year Blogaversary with WordPress. They went out of their way to get me a trophy badge and I not only failed to get them anything – again – but completely spaced on the date. I think this might be how divorces happen, I’m not sure. Of course, I’m surprised none of my social media accounts have kicked me to the curb yet with how little attention I’ve been giving them lately.  To which, I don’t have any excuses…just a couple new addictions taking up my time. 😉

SCRIVENER, where have you been all my life? It wasn’t like I was hearing about this totally BOSS program everywhere I turned, but I started hearing about it enough that I decided to download their 30 day free trial… 😮 [cue the choir of angels and divine light shining down from the heavens]. I’m sure I’m not even getting the full array of features Scrivener has to offer with this trial, but what I am getting is organized for the first time in my writing career!

Alright, I admit it, I’m a complete Pantser. I have never, ever, not even once sat down and tried to plot out a book ahead of time. No outlines, character sheets, blah… that was time I spent actually writing the friggin’ book. The closest I came to any kind of ‘outline’ was when I participated in NaNoWriMo last year, but in all honesty, most of the outline was in my head, not written out. The idea had already been stewing in my brain long enough to have a ton of material to start with. Could I do it again that way? LOL Probably not. I think it was just beginner’s luck.

I’m also that rare breed of author who actually writes a book in chronological order, from beginning to end. I don’t write random scenes and then piece them together later. If I have an idea for a future scene, I create a “notes” document for that book and jot the idea down real quick, so I won’t forget it, then go back to writing the book… in order.

Awhile ago I tried to make character bios, but they just got lost in the ever-increasing mess of My Documents and it turned out to be a step that was too easy to forget about. But, with Scrivener everything is all in one place, in one project. All you have to do is click an icon and click back to writing, you’re not opening multiple windows or documents and trying to keep track of what’s what – which can just be frustrating and daunting.

If you want a hint at how amazingly simple and helpful these features can be, check out this short video on how the Character & Collections features work to help keep track of and manage all of those little tidbits of ideas that pop up while writing. Not to mention, it’s great inspiration to get your creative juices flowing.

I honestly don’t know how my muse will take to having the ability to write books in short scenes, but I’m almost excited to give it a shot. I’m sure a lot of Indie’s reading this are already well aware of Scrivener and I’m just late to the party, but in case you’ve been just as clueless as me all this time, do yourself a favor and check this program out. It’s 30 days with no commitments, no credit cards necessary. They won’t start billing you on day 31, it will just expire – but I think it would be well worth the inexpensive cost for all of the time and stress it could save in the long run.

I’ve gotten to the point in my career where I’m tackling far too many projects and contracted deadlines at once to keep flying by the seat of my Pants-er ways. I am so happy that a program like Scrivener exists – Oh, and if you do download the free trial, I highly recommend watching the 9 minute Quick Start tutorial narrated by the creator of the program. Not only is it easier to follow than reading the more extensive tutorial, but if you’re like me and have a weakness for men with accents… let me tell you, this guy should be narrating audio books! 😉

Wait… that’s only one new addiction. What’s my other one? It’s not necessarily brand new, but it’s becoming more addicting with each new book, and that’s creating the Teasers for my upcoming new releases. I’m actually contemplating the cost for PhotoShop to keep making my own book covers and graphics with, but in the meantime I’ve been hacking out the Teasers for Avarice Unforgiving in Canvawhile jamming to my third new addiction: The entire Suicide Squad soundtrack.

Have you hugged an Indie today? You should! Then you should share what you’ve been up to in the comments. Who’s all participating in NaNoWriMo this year???

Save

4 thoughts on “Dear Indie ♥ New Resource Post

  1. Is Scrivener not EVERYTHING?!?!? Absolutely love it…now that I know HOW to use it! My WIPS look amazing – all organized and color-coded…but I’ll still never write chronologically. It’s not going to happen! 😄

    I have PSP (courtesy of a former boss) and I’ll be lucky if I get ONE teaser done, let alone a cover. I can’t be perfect at everything! 😂😂😂😂

    I’m about as ready for NaNo as I’m going to get, and with all the family issues that seem to occur daily, I need the distraction! C’mon, November 1st! 😉

    Great post! 👍

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes! I’m still learning how to use it more efficiently but it seems everyone uses it however they like, which is nice! 😀 I haven’t even discovered the color coded capabilities yet LOL

      I love making all of my own graphics. Apparently I’m just extremely decisive about what I like and what I don’t like and it drives my cover artists from my publisher crazy. They hate me. 😀

      Congrats on being ready for NaNo, I think I was still preparing on Nov. 1st last year Ha! I totally get needing distractions from family issues though. Good luck & Thanks! 🙂 ♥

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Congratulations for three years of blogging! 😀 Aww, I’m sure WP will forgive you. Some flowers and a promise of a romantic evening just the two of you will restore good relations.

    I’ve heard a lot of people praise Scrivener but I haven’t tried it myself yet. Glad that you’re enjoying it! Let us know if you’re turning into a plotter after all 😉 I think for a longer story arc Scrivener should make it easier to keep track of all the characters and events. I have an epic fantasy eternity project that’s so long it could definitely use some kind of catalogue system just to help me remember the names of the effing characters…

    I’m mentally hugging my fellow indies every other day for bringing me some useful new info or simply being awesome. 😀 I’m mentally hugging you right now! Not doing NaNoWriMo, too busy with other things. Making progress with my next book!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Anna! Flowers and romantic evening? That sounds like too much work LOL

      Scrivener would definitely help with your epic fantasy project. It’s like that murder board we talked about, only on the desktop rather than taking up space in your house! 😀

      Aww, thanks for the hugs! I can’t wait to read your WIP, I’m so glad you’re making progress with it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

