Get Your Read On

Reading2

The Daily guru’s are calling today’s Prompt “The Great Divide.”Ā  Codswallop!Ā  There’s no division in reading, that’s arithmetic – which I loathe like the dentist’s chair!Ā  Just for that, I’m ‘dividing’ your two-part question!

When reading for fun, do you usually chooseĀ fiction or non-fiction?

Both.Ā  I’ll normally choose fiction when I want to be entertained, get lost in another’s creative imaginings.Ā  But…

When I’m extremely interested in something, I will read everything about that subject I can get my hands on! I find that equally as fun and/or fulfilling.Ā  Not to mention, like most writers, I want my books and characters to stand out, so I research in order to try to find different ways to tell the same ol’ tales.

Now, have I ever found manuals/text books/articles/etc. that I’m ‘required’ to read fun?Ā  Pfft, no!Ā  Most people (aside from Literary students) don’t enjoy the things they’re forced to read, whether it’s for work or school.Ā  My eyes cross, the words blur and my comprehension level drops to subzero.

Reading1

Do you have an idea why you prefer one over the other?

Uh, hmm….Ā  Well, I guess I started out reading fiction as a child, then progressed to researching.Ā  I spent several years looking for the real Dracula, reading everything I could find on Vlad Dracul III, Prince of Wallachia, aka Vlad Tepes “The Impaler,” while simultaneously researching Ancient Egypt.Ā  Mostly, I think I was driven by the idea of ‘discovering’ the answers to long-standing mysteries. (That was all pre-internet, too, when we used this funny building called a Library!)Ā  In the interim I was breaking up the tedium with fiction books like Magic’s Pawn by Mercedes Lackey, Interview With the Vampire by Anne Rice or The Secret Circle by L.J. Smith.Ā  I saw one as learning and one as relaxing. I know now that that was a wrong assumption.

I will always prefer Fiction because I enjoy reading and writing fiction.Ā  “Read what you write” – oh, I do!Ā  And despite what some people believe, you truly do learn how to write by reading the things you enjoy most.Ā  You learn how to structure sentences and hone your ability to discern styles.Ā  You also expand your vocabulary – a lot!Ā  Just, please, do not tell my kids that they’re learning or I’ll never get them to read again! šŸ˜‰

I will always prefer Non-Fiction in the form of research, real-world topics that interest me, and genealogy.Ā  “Truth is stranger than fiction” – boy, ain’t that the truth!Ā  I never knew just how much, until I started doing my own family research.Ā  I’ve even shared some of those stories with you all here.

As far as the great divide goes, I say “Read and let read!”Ā  No matter what you prefer or why, reading is a vital tool for entertainment, inspiration and knowledge that everyone should have the right to enjoy.Ā  I don’t really see a point in arguing over which is better, but I suppose if you have nothing better to do, then by all means…

Reading3

…I have far too many books to read, subjects to research and manuscripts to write, myself.Ā  Am I alone?Ā  Let’s find out:

  1. Fictional Facts | From Balderdash To Epiphany
  2. Boring | Gut Honest Faith
  3. Daily Prompt: The Great Divide | VexingPoint
  4. A Song A Day Keeps The Sadness Away #34 | Life Confusions
  5. Non Fiction Is Not Boring, I Repeat – Not Boring | Really Just Words
  6. Daughter Of The Ganges – Asha Miro | Our Gorgeous Chaos
  7. Timeless Pleasure | My Daily Minefield
  8. Fiction or Non-Fiction…it’s all the same | Ryan Erickson Writing
  9. What’s Ur Poison? | Ripples N Reflections
  10. Fiction! | Just Writing!
  11. The Great Divide: Philosophical Non-Fiction | Rubber Tyres –> Smooth Rides
  12. On Writing | Risingrave28
  13. Adventures Neverending | Mojowritin’
  14. The Great Divide | tnkerr – Writing Prompts and Practice
  15. (NO)N FICTION! | The Undaunted Blue Madness Of My Life
  16. 50/50 split | Designer Sophisticate
  17. No Divide Here | Prairie Views
  18. The Great Divide: Fiction Or Non-Fiction | Awake & Dreaming
  19. Hail Fiction…daily prompt | Saya…D Poet…
  20. The Great Divide, really?? | perferviddreams
  21. The Great Debate | Passion through Poetry
  22. Of Fact or of Fiction | The Lark’s Roost
  23. Why Else? | you ain’t special
  24. Fact or Fiction | A Day In The Life
  25. The Great Divide | A Little Fluff
  26. Longest Reading Queue, Purely For Fun | TyroCharm
  27. I love reading | Life as sirli
  28. News Blues | Lifelessons – a blog by Judy Dykstra-Brown
  29. Fact or Fiction | Seeking An Enriching Life
  30. My Fiction: functionally non-fiction | A Nameless Space
  31. This is How I Read! | Sweat, Tears and Digital Ink
  32. Stranger Than Fiction | Ginger Musings
  33. Fiction or Non-Fiction? | My Creative Writing Log
  34. Fiction For Me | Tony’s Texts
  35. It’s Not the Genre That Matters | ROUND THE WORD
  36. Fun but not Facts | Takeshi’s Flight
  37. Fiction Rules | Musings of a Soul Eclectic
  38. Fact – Stranger than Fiction? | agonyandecstacy
  39. Give me Fiction or Give Me Facts | Monkebus
  40. Fiction vs. Non-Fiction? Seriously? | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  41. The Great Divide | A Penny For Her Thoughts
  42. Fact or Fiction | Rideo, Ergo Supero
  43. Fiction or Non-Fiction | My Simple Life
  44. Faeries and Fiction | A Teenage (Poet’s) Life
  45. This isn’t Real is it? | The Daily Blabber
  46. NO GREAT DIVIDE | SERENDIPITY
  47. JUST READ | jk109
  48. LOST | A lot from Lydia
  49. “Who am I?” – a bookworm’s introspection | Writer’s Abode
  50. The Great Divide – let’s upload a book | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  51. What Happens to Me | Flowers and Breezes
  52. The Great Divide | Raven Haired Girl
  53. ~Daily Prompt~ The Great Divide | My Book Self
  54. The Bibliophile in me… | Berryduchess
  55. The (non existing) Great Divide | Estelea’s Blog
  56. I will carry your dreams.. | The Wandering Poet
  57. Does it Matter? | joatmon14
  58. The Great Divide | Vintage 1956
  59. The Great Divide | Amanda Ho’s Blog
  60. Non-Fiction Is My Bag | From Slacker To Scribe
  61. No Frictions in Fictions? | Hardethaewoh’s Blog
  62. Choosing Sides – The Great Divide | Thoughts of a crooked mind
  63. I’m more like Archie… | djgarcia94
  64. How To Tell Fact from Fiction – Five Tips | Emotional Fitness
  65. Reeding is Gud! | The Brie’s Knees
  66. Fiction Baby! | Giving Thought
  67. THE GREAT DIVIDE | stream of consciousness
  68. Daily Prompt – The Great Divide | RobertMcQ
  69. Post A Day: Fact or Fiction? | Corinthia Lynne
  70. Over the other one | Pigeon’s Blood Ruby
  71. Escape From Reality | The Sunny Narrative.
  72. The Great Divide | Daniel Gregson
  73. The Great Divide | Life, Lyrics and Lemoncake
  74. Fact or Not-Fact | The Gad About Town
  75. For non-fiction we have real life | Camembert & Chocolate
  76. Page Turners | Thoughts From the Front
  77. the great divide | crystal blue persuasion
  78. Being Fictional! | All Things Cute and Beautiful
  79. Fiction or Nonfiction? | Words from the heart
  80. The Best President That Never Was | This Blog Needs A Title
  81. The Written Word | Day to Spade
  82. Fantastic Flights | Barryjack’s Place
  83. The Big “What If?” | A Just Man Is Hard to Find
  84. I read what I read | Willow’s Corner
  85. I ā™„ Grammer | wtf Am I On About Now?
  86. Fun of the Fiction | Halfway Amazing
  87. to Fiction or Not to Fiction? | brian writing
  88. The Great Divide | INSPIRING MAX

2 responses to “Get Your Read On”

  1. You had me at the criticism of arithmetic. šŸ˜€

    Like

    1. Ha! Thank you, Armando, it’s nice to know I’m not alone on that! šŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment